The Orphan’s Gift: An absolutely heartbreaking historical novel


She allows herself to kiss her perfect child just once. She wraps the baby in her last gift: a hand-knitted cardigan, embroidered with a water lily pattern. ‘You’re better off without me,’ she whispers and although every step breaks her heart, she walks away. 1910, India. Young and curious Alice, with her spun-gold hair, grows up in her family’s sprawling compound with parents as remote as England, the cold country she has never seen. It is Raju, son of a servant, with whom she shares her secrets. Together, their love grows like roses – but leaves deep thorns. Because when they get too close, Alice’s father drags them apart, sending Raju far away and banishing Alice to England…1944. Intelligent and kind Janaki is raised in an orphanage in India. The nuns love to tell the story: Janaki’s arrival stopped the independence riots outside the gates, as the men on both sides gazed at the starry-eyed little girl left in a beautiful hand-knitted cardigan. Janaki longs for her real mother, the woman who was forced to abandon her, wrapped in a precious gift…Now old enough to be a grandmother and living alone in India, Alice watches children play under the tamarind trees, haunted by the terrible mistake she made fifty years ago. It’s just an ordinary afternoon, until a young girl with familiar eyes appears with a photograph and Alice must make a choice. Will she spend the rest of her life consumed by dreams of the past, or can she admit her mistakes and choose love and light at last?A stunning and heartbreaking novel about how a forbidden love can echo through the generations. Readers who love Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and The Storyteller’s Secret will be captivated. Readers absolutely adore The Orphan’s Gift:‘Utterly spellbinding and so beautifully written… Will draw you in and immediately transport you… This heart-warming and heartbreaking novel is a story of friendship, of love, of tragedy and loss… I absolutely LOVED it as I have ALL of Renita’s novels… Couldn’t put it down and as always the tissues were definitely needed.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘So beautiful!… As I was reading, I was crying… Well written and the characters were really brought to life.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Wow! This was an incredible story… Fantastic and the emotions were so real.’ Goodreads Reviewer‘I kept turning the pages until my eyes blurred. I just wanted to hear how all of the stories would come together… Look forward to checking out her other books!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Could not put this book down, a real page-turner. Definitely will be recommending this book to other readers, love to read more books from this author.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘I could not put this story down… The ending was perfect!… This book is captivating, sad and then more sad added in. This was a quick read for me but super enjoyable.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Transported me to another world… The characters are vibrant and dance off the page. I couldn’t stop once I started. I laughed and cried.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘This book was so good! The characters were so well rounded, you felt like you actually knew them! The plot was so good you didn’t want the book to end!’ Goodreads Reviewer‘This book has everything… I loved each and every character and felt every emotion that they did.’ Rachel Marie’s Blog ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Amazon.co.uk Price: £1.99 (as of 04/08/2020 19:13 PST- Details)

She allows herself to kiss her perfect child just once. She wraps the baby in her last gift: a hand-knitted cardigan, embroidered with a water lily pattern. ‘You’re better off without me,’ she whispers and although every step breaks her heart, she walks away. 1910, India. Young and curious Alice, with her spun-gold hair, grows up in her family’s sprawling compound with parents as remote as England, the cold country she has never seen. It is Raju, son of a servant, with whom she shares her secrets. Together, their love grows like roses – but leaves deep thorns. Because when they get too close, Alice’s father drags them apart, sending Raju far away and banishing Alice to England…1944. Intelligent and kind Janaki is raised in an orphanage in India. The nuns love to tell the story: Janaki’s arrival stopped the independence riots outside the gates, as the men on both sides gazed at the starry-eyed little girl left in a beautiful hand-knitted cardigan. Janaki longs for her real mother, the woman who was forced to abandon her, wrapped in a precious gift.

Now old enough to be a grandmother and living alone in India, Alice watches children play under the tamarind trees, haunted by the terrible mistake she made fifty years ago. It’s just an ordinary afternoon until a young girl with familiar eyes appears with a photograph and Alice must make a choice. Will she spend the rest of her life consumed by dreams of the past, or can she admit her mistakes and choose love and light at last? A stunning and heartbreaking novel about how a forbidden love can echo through the generations. Readers who love Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and The Storyteller’s Secret will be captivated. Readers absolutely adore The Orphan’s Gift:‘Utterly spellbinding and so beautifully written.

Will draw you in and immediately transport you… This heart-warming and heartbreaking novel is a story of friendship, of love, of tragedy and loss… I absolutely LOVED it as I have ALL of Renita’s novels… Couldn’t put it down and as always the tissues were definitely needed.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘So beautiful!… As I was reading, I was crying… Well written and the characters were really brought to life.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Wow! This was an incredible story… Fantastic and the emotions were so real.’ Goodreads Reviewer‘I kept turning the pages until my eyes blurred. I just wanted to hear how all of the stories would come together… Look forward to checking out her other books!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Could not put this book down, a real page-turner. Definitely will be recommending this book to other readers, love to read more books from this author.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘I could not put this story down… The ending was perfect!… This book is captivating, sad and then more sad added in. This was a quick read for me but super enjoyable.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘Transported me to another world… The characters are vibrant and dance off the page. I couldn’t stop once I started. I laughed and cried.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️‘This book was so good! The characters were so well rounded, you felt like you actually knew them! The plot was so good you didn’t want the book to end!’ Goodreads Reviewer‘This book has everything… I loved each and every character and felt every emotion that they did.’ Rachel Marie’s Blog ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Category:
Author

Based on 0 reviews

0.0 overall
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “The Orphan’s Gift: An absolutely heartbreaking historical novel”

There are no reviews yet.

SHOPPING CART

close